Thursday, February 20, 2020

Book Review: Suddenly Psychic by Elizabeth Hunter


Title: Suddenly Psychic (Glimmer Lake Series #1)

Author: Elizabeth Hunter

Rating: Five out of five stars

Published: 02/16/2020

Publisher: Recurve Press, LLC

Genre(s): Paranormal Romantic Suspense

DESCRIPTION 

 A Paranormal Women's Fiction with a bit of class and a lot of sass, for anyone who feels like age is just a number!

Every woman goes through changes in their forties. Just not… these changes.

Robin Brannon was a normal wife, mom, and antique-shop owner until a brush with death turned her day-to-day life upside down. Now she and her two best friends are seeing things that belong in a fantasy novel. Ghosts. Visions. Omens of doom. Nothing that belongs in the peaceful mountain town they call home.

Added to that, Robin’s marriage is on the rocks, her grandmother’s health is failing, her mother is driving away the customers at her shop, her teenage daughter refuses to get her driver’s license, and her left knee aches every darn morning.

Robin doesn’t have the time, energy, or knees to unearth the secrets buried at the bottom of Glimmer Lake, but fate doesn’t seem to care. Some secrets are just dying to be exposed.

Suddenly Psychic is stand-alone paranormal women’s fiction and the first book in the Glimmer Lake series by USA Today best seller, Elizabeth Hunter, author of the Elemental Mysteries.


MY THOUGHTS 

The term “go-to” is one that readers rely on to describe an author whose work they can always count on to entertain them. Elizabeth Hunter is that for me. In fact, she is my only paranormal go-to author.

Suddenly Psychic is the first in her new Glimmer Lake Series and her first with the Paranormal Women’s Fiction group. The heroine of this installment is a forty-five-year-old woman, wife, mother, artist, and antique store owner, Robin Brannon. She’s feeling achy, ignored by her husband, and wondering if she is a bad mother. She’s BORED and asking herself things like, “Is this my life?” “Am I a ghost in my own house?” (If only she was psychic, eh?!)

Robin and her two besties, Monica and Val, literally end up underwater and near death. From then on life is like a fantasy novel. Are they experiencing PTSD or do they have...psychic powers?! 😱

I loved how each used their new “talents” to help solve a fascinating family/town mystery and how Robin changed her family dynamic. So much so that “Is this my life?” takes on a whole new meaning—EXTRAORDINARY!


HIGHLIGHTS 

Robin had nearly drowned and was now seeing ghosts. Apparently. Who could possibly have trouble sleeping after that?

~*~


She felt a wave of gratitude for her husband. He might not be perfect, but neither was she. When anyone needed help, Mark was always the first to volunteer. How many people could you say that about? He didn’t always say the right things, but he did the right things. Most of the time.


Friday, February 14, 2020

Book Review: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson

Title: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Author: Kim Michele Richardson

Rating: Five out of five stars

Published: 05/07/2019

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

Genre(s): Historical Fiction

DESCRIPTION 

The bestselling historical fiction from Kim Michele Richardson, this is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of Lee Smith and Lisa Wingate. The perfect addition to your next book club!

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything—everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt's Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome's got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.

Cussy's not only a book woman, however, she's also the last of her kind, her skin a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy's family or the Library Project, and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she's going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachias and suspicion as deep as the holler.

Inspired by the true blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave and dedicated Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere—even back home.


MY THOUGHTS (Short and Sweet)

 The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is one of those books that both fiction and non-fiction readers will get much out of. The history is well researched and the fictional characters are vividly portrayed. Cussy Mary Carter—the book woman—is an extraordinarily enduring and empathetic character. This poignant novel will certainly leave a lasting impact.


HIGHLIGHTS 

The disgrace had fixed itself to my soul like it had life, the rawness, black and heavy like a lump of Kentucky coal that would find its dirty way into our home.

~*~

Pa didn’t have as much as two nickels to rub together, and I know’d he worked eighteen-hour days for two weeks straight for that little extra. The Company didn’t like for the Kentucky man to feel a dollar in his pocket, and they’d pay the miners mostly in Company scrip—credit that could only be used at the Company store—to make sure of just that.

~*~

It didn’t feel right taking the gift. The bread was likely the only thing she had to eat for the week. And food was the most valuable thing you could give someone—the most generous gift a Kaintuck folk could bestow on another.

~*~

Winnie clasped her hands. “If only we could get more outreach programs up here. If only they could send a block of cheese with every book, a loaf of bread.” She tilted her head to the sky as if telling it all to God. I wished it too. Their hunger for books could teach them of a better life free of the hunger, but without food they’d never live long enough or have the strength to find it.